Publishing Imprint Update

An update on our upcoming publishing imprint!

Publishing Imprint Update

Last year, my husband, Gareth L. Powell, and I decided to pursue making our own publishing imprint as a small press. I am the daughter of a storyteller and indie author (Dad) and a former press worker (Mom), and Gareth and I have both self-published and traditionally published works in both fiction and non-fiction, long and short form. We have both been nominated for multiple awards for our writing (Gareth, with a longer trad publishing history, has won several awards). It seemed like the most natural fit.

We began the process in 2023, getting the necessary licenses and things set up, but Mom's passing changed our plans. Now, we are back to it, and I know she would have been pleased.

Just Call Me EIC

Today marks my first day as Editor in Chief, as I received my first short story submission for the anthology that will launch our imprint. This is ahead of schedule, and I'm delighted by the author's enthusiasm! The first anthology is invite-only, gathering writers whose work I know and whose names will capture great interest for our first-ever book.

What Will We Publish?

We will start with this anthology to represent our main genres we wish to publish: science fiction, fantasy, horror, and mystery/thriller.

Eventually, we will publish novels, novellas, and novelettes under these genres.

We will publish adult, young adult, and middle grade for our age ranges.

We hope to publish graphic novels too.

This is all contingent on the success of the imprint. This is why we want to hit the ground running with a cross-genre anthology that has authors that will excite readers, and gorgeous HUMAN-MADE COVER DESIGN.

What Happens Next?

This week, I have a meeting with a successful small press EIC to see what tactics worked best for them, and to glean any helpful resources. I want to make sure everything is well-planned in advance for a smooth debut.

Next week, I meet with my web designers at Dash Creative, who have done a wonderful job on both my author websites (here's my JDG one). We will discuss when the imprint's site launches, and what the site will look like. I trust them implicitly, having worked with them for years with not only web design, but also logos, banners, business cards, and perhaps most crucially, the new edition book layout design for my Questrison Saga® series (the actual art is by Leon Tukker, who worked from my own concept art as a guide; a topic for another time):

I've reached out to editors already, and they await my go ahead to act as final copy editors and proofreaders (the sort of thing Mom was great at!). I've reached out to multiple cover artists too, representing the different genres with their expertise.

In late August, I hope to have all stories submitted, contracts signed, and authors paid. At this point, it's likely the book would publish in early 2025. That would give me time to perfect everything and to gather book reviews from trades. And also it would help to build excitement! Rather than rush it out, I want it to be the best it can be.

Fundraising and Investors

This is an opportunity for investors who want to be part of this new imprint and get it off the ground. Investment can mean anything from small donations toward a fundraiser to angel investors. Here is a link to more about our crowdfunding: https://ko-fi.com/post/Publishing-Imprint-News-and-Opportunity-H2H2XH2SN

Keep Up to Date

Gareth and I know you are all so excited about our venture. We love this, and we're even more excited! Do keep up to date by subscribing to this newsletter, which will give you news both about the imprint as well as my author and science writer sides of things. Eventually, we will have an imprint-only newsletter. More info to come as I have it.

Thank You!

Thank you so much for your excitement, your interest, and your support!

Write on!
Jendia