Fun News!

The Nerds of a Feather, Flock Together blog has recommended my young adult science fiction and fantasy adventure, THE INN AT THE AMETHYST LANTERN, for the Lodestar Award.

Fun News!

I am just ecstatic!

The Nerds of a Feather, Flock Together blog has recommended my young adult science fiction and fantasy adventure, THE INN AT THE AMETHYST LANTERN, for the Lodestar Award, which would be given at the Hugo Awards! Note, my book is eligible for BOTH a Hugo (for Best Novel) and a Lodestar (for Young Adult). If I were to receive either nomination, I would of course be honored. Head HERE to see all the recommendations by the blog. I see many friends' works. And goodness, look at the stellar company my book is in for the Lodestar! Yowza!

This is my first Hugo Award-related recommendation out there, ever, and I'm stoked. It's not a nomination, but it matters. Why? Because it raises awareness to the reading public and to the voters for the Hugo Awards themselves.

You may recall that OFFICIALLY, this book, among several other titles of mine, is on the Nebula Awards recommended reading list on the SFWA site, and is actually longlisted for the BSFA Awards.

I am not sure when the shortlists for these three awards, or for that matter the Locus Awards, happen...but if I were to make the shortlist for any of my titles for any of these awards, it would open up many more possibilities for my writing career in genre fiction. That's why I'm so stunned and amazed to see several of my works, all published in 2023, out there getting on reading and recommendation lists. This is rare stuff. It may never happen again! But it DOES encourage me to make more stories.

And perhaps anyone out there thinking about publishing my stories will see all this news as well...

Regardless, I want readers to read my books. That is the greatest reward.

And you all help spread the word, and I thank you for it.

Write on and ad astra!
Jendia


THE INN AT THE AMETHYST LANTERN is by J. Dianne Dotson (aka Jendia Gammon) and published by Android Press. Order from your favorite bookseller.