What's in a Week - Vol. 26

BSFA Awards longlist for 3 works! New writing! TBRCon this week! And more...

What's in a Week - Vol. 26

BSFA Awards longlist for 3 works! New writing! TBRCon this week! And more...

BSFA Awards Longlist for THREE Works!

I'm buzzing over the news that THREE of my works are longlisted for the BSFA (British Science Fiction Association) Awards! And under both my pen names. They are:

THE SHADOW GALAXY by J. Dianne Dotson (Best Collection)

THE INN AT THE AMETHYST LANTERN by J. Dianne Dotson (Best Fiction for Younger Readers)

“Copper” by Jendia Gammon in INTERZONE issue 295 (Best Short Fiction)

Note that "Copper" and THE INN AT THE AMETHYST LANTERN are also on the Nebula Awards (SFWA) reading list! For short fiction and the Norton younger readers award, respectively.

If you are a voting member of the BSFA or SFWA, I would love your votes for these works, as well as others eligible...see next...

Awards Nomination Season!

I have a dedicated post for all the words of mine published in 2023 (under both names) that are eligible for awards in fantasy, horror, science fiction, indie/small press awards, children’s fiction, Southern fiction, women’s fiction, poetry, etc. It is now on my new blog!

Social Media Update

If you're on Threads, follow me there. I am also on Instagram, BlueSky, and while less prevalent these days, still poking around the carcass of X/Twitter. I do have a Facebook page but am not very active there. But Threads has been a great social media home for me, and that's where I'm investing most of my time.

Meanwhile, I'm building out my YouTube channel and hoping for more subscribers under my new pen name! Please subscribe!

And finally, I have a hit post (sort of) on TikTok, which is a good one that introduces my writing and art.

All other social media links can be found on the footer of my website!

On the Screen

I really enjoyed the first episode of TRUE DETECTIVE: NIGHT COUNTRY on Max (aka HBO), starring Jodie Foster and Kali Reis, and also with Fiona Shaw and a strong supporting cast throughout. Pay attention to the DVD shelf in that first episode for an Easter egg...

Set in the far north during the full darkness of winter, this is a chilling and potentially supernatural tale this time around, and I can't wait to see where it goes.

The poster for True Detective: Night Country.

On the Page

Lately I'm listening to audiobooks while I do science writing or art (I can't listen to ANYTHING when writing fiction, not music, not anything).

I just completed THE HOBBIT audiobook with Andy Serkis narrating. You may recall he portrayed Gollum/Sméagol in THE LORD OF THE RINGS and THE HOBBIT movies. Now, with Serkis narrating, this story (which I've read myself many times since childhood) took on a richness and grandeur and also powerful emotion on a level I wasn't expecting. It's incredible. I highly recommend it. I'll be starting his narrated versions of Tolkien's saga next.

The Hobbit Audiobook By J. R. R. Tolkien cover art

Personalized Books for U.S. Purchase

I have 7 copies remaining of my personal, available stock for The Shadow Galaxy: A Collection of Short Stories and Poetry, longlisted for the BSFA awards, which I can personalize, sign, and ship to you. Shipping is included in the cost. For that reason, I can only ship within the U.S. as international shipping has become prohibitive.

Writing Update

This past December, I finished my campy horror novel! It is going out on submission ("on sub") in February to publishers. We still have my creepy, X-Files-like speculative thriller on sub as well, so I'm very excited. And the dragon book is still available, so I'm hoping someone snaps it up this year, in the Year of the Dragon! Wouldn't that be cool?

What's next? I'm writing a space opera book that is quite feisty. And there are some nods to The Questrison Saga! But it is very much a different location and scenario for this book...

I'm also writing a high fantasy with some romance (whether it ends up being called "romantasy" remains to be seen; but the world building is elaborate and could be in the same universe as the dragon book).

I've also got a cozy romantic mystery set in the Northwest on the back burner.

And in the latter half of the year, I'll be working on an Appalachian & cosmic horror novel as well as a dark academia fantasy.

It's quite possible I'll have news about other projects soon.

Meanwhile, I've been writing and submitting short stories in fantasy, science fiction, and horror. I soon will have some news to report on those!

The Week Ahead

This coming week, on Thursday, January 25, I'll be in an online panel you can watch for TBRCon 2024! Head to the website for more details. Look at that lineup! Here is the direct link for the livestream for Thursday.

Wishing you all a great week ahead! Thank you for following and supporting my work.

Write on!
Jendia