What's in a Week - Vol. 27

Hugo Awards nomination time! Free online panel ready to watch! What I watched, what I'm writing, etc...

What's in a Week - Vol. 27
Screenshot of TBRCon 2024 panel "Why Sci-Fi is More Than Space Opera."

Hugo Awards nomination time! Free online panel ready to watch! What I watched, what I'm writing, etc...

New Video!

This past week, I was part of an online panel for TBRCon (screenshot in header image above), alongside several great writers (including my husband, Gareth) so do watch here! Great panel.

Hugo Award Nomination Time!

I have works eligible for the Hugo Awards under both my pen names! They are:

Novel:

THE INN AT THE AMETHYST LANTERN by J. Dianne Dotson (Eligible for Best Novel and Lodestar Award) - Young Adult; Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Climate Fiction. Published by Android Press, October 2023.

Short Fiction:

“Copper” by Jendia Gammon in INTERZONE issue 295 (Best Short Fiction)

Note that "Copper" and THE INN AT THE AMETHYST LANTERN are also longlisted for the BSFW Awards and are on the Nebula Awards (SFWA) reading list! For short fiction and the Norton younger readers award, respectively.

"Falling Upward into Starlight” by Jendia Gammon; Flash Fiction Short Story; Fantasy. Published by Queer Sci-Fi in the RISE anthology, October 2023.

“A Swirl of Leaves and Sand,” by Jendia Gammon; Short Story; Fantasy/Magical Realism. Published by Seaside Gothic, October 2023

“Opal World Frolic” by Jendia Gammon; Short Story; Science Fiction. Published by Third Flatiron in the Rhapsody of the Spheres anthology, August 2023.

“The Tower and the Raven,” by J. Dianne Dotson; Short Story; Fantasy. Published by Lazy Wolf Studios in Tales from Stolki’s Hall: A Thrones & Bones Anthology, September 2023.

“Midnight Serenade” by J. Dianne Dotson; Short Story; Science Fiction, Fantasy, Climate Fiction. Young Adult. Published by Solarpunk Magazine, January/February 2023.

Cover Art

The cover art of THE INN AT THE AMETHYST LANTERN is sublime, and its artist, Kim Herbst would be a wonderful nominee for that category! Behold:

If you are a voting member of the Hugo awards, I would love your nomination(s)! Everything is also listed here on my new blog!

On the Screen

The second episode of TRUE DETECTIVE: NIGHT COUNTRY on Max (aka HBO), starring Jodie Foster and Kali Reis, really upped the spooky factor a lot. In many ways, to me, it made Season 1 even spookier. Can't wait to see what happens on the third episode tonight!

On the Page

Lately I'm listening to Andy Serkis narrating The Lord of the Rings audiobook, and it's jut such a joy. He mimics the voices of the actors from the films! Terrific stuff. Currently I am still on The Fellowship of the Ring and being reminded why I wish Rivendell could be a real place.

Writing Update

Currently, I'm writing a space opera novel that's very fun. There are some nods to The Questrison Saga!

I've also got a cozy romantic mystery set in the Northwest on the back burner.

And I'm planning out my short story submissions plan for the year, and there are so many great places to submit across numerous genres. Very fun.

Meanwhile, awaiting news on books on submission, and if anything moves forward there, I will share when the time is right.

The Week Ahead

Wishing you all a wonderful week ahead! Thank you for following and supporting my work.

Write on!
Jendia