What's in a Week - Vol. 30

Doctor Who fun, last day for BSFA award shortlist votes, what I watched/read/etc.

What's in a Week - Vol. 30
That's how the Girl Scout cookie crumbles!

Doctor Who fun, last day for BSFA award shortlist votes, what I watched/read/etc.

BSFA Nominations

I'm longlisted for the BSFA Awards and would love for members to vote for my eligible works off that list! Only one more day to vote.

Hugo Award Nomination Time

Meanwhile, if you are voting member for the Hugo Awards, the nominations are open! I have works eligible for the Hugo Awards under both my pen names! They are:

Novel:

THE INN AT THE AMETHYST LANTERN by J. Dianne Dotson (Eligible for Best Novel and Lodestar Award) - Young Adult; Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Climate Fiction. Published by Android Press, October 2023.

Short Fiction:

“Copper” by Jendia Gammon in INTERZONE issue 295 (Best Short Fiction)

Note that "Copper" and THE INN AT THE AMETHYST LANTERN are also longlisted for the BSFW Awards and are on the Nebula Awards (SFWA) reading list! For short fiction and the Norton younger readers award, respectively.

"Falling Upward into Starlight” by Jendia Gammon; Flash Fiction Short Story; Fantasy. Published by Queer Sci-Fi in the RISE anthology, October 2023.

“A Swirl of Leaves and Sand,” by Jendia Gammon; Short Story; Fantasy/Magical Realism. Published by Seaside Gothic, October 2023

“Opal World Frolic” by Jendia Gammon; Short Story; Science Fiction. Published by Third Flatiron in the Rhapsody of the Spheres anthology, August 2023.

“The Tower and the Raven,” by J. Dianne Dotson; Short Story; Fantasy. Published by Lazy Wolf Studios in Tales from Stolki’s Hall: A Thrones & Bones Anthology, September 2023.

“Midnight Serenade” by J. Dianne Dotson; Short Story; Science Fiction, Fantasy, Climate Fiction. Young Adult. Published by Solarpunk Magazine, January/February 2023.

Note: "Midnight Serenade" under my pen name J. Dianne Dotson makes me eligible for the Astounding Award for a new/upcoming writer (traditional publishing)!

Cover Art

The cover art of THE INN AT THE AMETHYST LANTERN is sublime, and its artist, Kim Herbst (mentioned above!) would be a wonderful nominee for that category! Behold:

If you are a voting member of the Hugo awards, I would love your nomination(s)! Everything is also listed here on my new blog!

On the Screen

I had been watching Ghosts UK and reached the end of the available episodes I could stream. Loved it. I tried watching the US version, but it's so close in all the themes and characters that it seems redundant. Still charming though.

Tonight is the final episode of TRUE DETECTIVE: NIGHT COUNTRY on Max (aka HBO) and I'm nervous! Love this show. I low-key want an entire spinoff series set in Ennis, Alaska.

On the Page (or Audio)

The Two Towers Audiobook By J. R. R. Tolkien cover art

I'm still listening to Andy Serkis narrating The Lord of the Rings audiobooks, and currently I'm on The Two Towers. Other than that, it's been a light reading week.

Writing Update

Many things afoot in a very short time span! Most of which I can't discuss yet! But all to the good. It's been a strong week of new connections, good talks with very successful industry pros, and I'm feeling like things are about to shift for me and my writing career in a major way...

More when I can share.

Gallifrey One

I didn't attend the convention itself, but I did meet with several Doctor Who folks at Gally1 in LA. You can see pics on my Instagram page!

The Week Ahead

An emotional week on deck. The return of Gareth, my 50th birthday, and immediately after, the anniversary of Mom's passing. It'll be a lot. I miss her and Dad every day. I know they'd be happy and excited for me. I'll celebrate the memory of them both with my siblings and my children this week.

Later in the week, Gareth and I are meeting with a delightful writer friend for brunch. Before that, LA is under threat once again from the atmospheric river stuff, and it'll be soggy.

But the sun will return.

Wishing you all a great week ahead.

Write on!
Jendia

Dutch apple pie in a yellow pie plate
Dutch apple pie.