What's in a Week - Vol. 31

My Birthday, Nebula Award Nomination Time, Hugo Award Updates, Conventions, etc.!

My Birthday, Nebula Award Nomination Time, Hugo Award Updates, Conventions, etc.!

This is 50! Me on my 50th birthday this past week.

My Birthday

I turned 50 this past week! What! And I had a lovely time. Gareth arrived back in LA the night before. I spent a great day with him and my family, made a pretty epic cake for myself, and received many delightful gifts. You can see all the fun on my Instagram page. Many thanks for all the well wishes!

Nebula Award Nomination Time!

OMG! We are in the FINAL DAYS for Nebula Award nominations. If you're a SFWA member, I would love a nod! The titles above are eligible. THE INN AT THE AMETHYST LANTERN under my J. Dianne Dotson name is eligible for the Norton Award for younger fiction, FYI. And "Copper" is eligible for short fiction under my Jendia Gammon pen name.

Hugo Award Nominations Too!

Meanwhile, if you are voting member for the Hugo Awards, the nominations are open! I have works eligible for the Hugo Awards under both my pen names! They are:

Novel:

THE INN AT THE AMETHYST LANTERN by J. Dianne Dotson (Eligible for Best Novel and Lodestar Award) - Young Adult; Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Climate Fiction. Published by Android Press, October 2023.

Short Fiction:

“Copper” by Jendia Gammon in INTERZONE issue 295 (Best Short Fiction)

Note that "Copper" and THE INN AT THE AMETHYST LANTERN are also longlisted for the BSFW Awards and are on the Nebula Awards (SFWA) reading list! For short fiction and the Norton younger readers award, respectively.

"Falling Upward into Starlight” by Jendia Gammon; Flash Fiction Short Story; Fantasy. Published by Queer Sci-Fi in the RISE anthology, October 2023.

“A Swirl of Leaves and Sand,” by Jendia Gammon; Short Story; Fantasy/Magical Realism. Published by Seaside Gothic, October 2023

“Opal World Frolic” by Jendia Gammon; Short Story; Science Fiction. Published by Third Flatiron in the Rhapsody of the Spheres anthology, August 2023.

“The Tower and the Raven,” by J. Dianne Dotson; Short Story; Fantasy. Published by Lazy Wolf Studios in Tales from Stolki’s Hall: A Thrones & Bones Anthology, September 2023.

“Midnight Serenade” by J. Dianne Dotson; Short Story; Science Fiction, Fantasy, Climate Fiction. Young Adult. Published by Solarpunk Magazine, January/February 2023.

Note: "Midnight Serenade" under my pen name J. Dianne Dotson makes me eligible for the Astounding Award for a new/upcoming writer (traditional publishing)!

Cover Art

The cover art of THE INN AT THE AMETHYST LANTERN is sublime, and its artist, Kim Herbst (mentioned above!) would be a wonderful nominee for that category! Behold:

If you are a voting member of the Hugo awards, I would love your nomination(s)! Everything is also listed here on my new blog!

Speaking of the Hugo Awards...WorldCon, Here We Come!

I just booked our hotel for Glasgow WorldCon 2024 this August! This is my first WorldCon, and I can't wait to meet all the great folks in science fiction and fantasy who will be there.

Headed to StokerCon!

Just found out I'll be at StokerCon (in San Diego this year) for one day, signing books! So stoked for StokerCon! More details forthcoming...

On the Screen

The finale of TRUE DETECTIVE: NIGHT COUNTRY on Max (aka HBO) stuck the landing, resolving the main mysteries, and leaving just enough mystique that possibilities remain. I loved this season, which was the most-watched one of the series, and I'm delighted to see showrunner Issa Lopez just signed a multi-year deal with HBO to make Season 5 of True Detective s well as additional, unrelated content. While the fifth season will have a different set of actors, as each season does, I still secretly hope that we get a return to Ennis, Alaska one day in some form or another. I'm going to miss the town and its people. Jodie Foster and Kali Reis are just incredible in this show, but supporting actors brought their A-games as well.

True Detective (season 4) - Wikipedia

Meanwhile, I continue my Arctic freaky fix with the new Apple TV Plus science fiction show, CONSTELLATION, starting the incredible Noomi Rapace as well as Breaking Bad/Better Call Saul actor Jonathan Banks. The show follows an astronaut (Rapace) in the aftermath of a disaster on the International Space Station, and a NASA experiment gone awry. Then strange things happen in the far north in Sweden. Chilling and masterful performances and effects. Can't wait to see more!

On the Page (or Audio)

The Two Towers Audiobook By J. R. R. Tolkien cover art

I'm still listening to Andy Serkis narrating The Lord of the Rings audiobooks, and currently I'm on The Two Towers.

I'm also reading two great ARCs (advance reader copies) for books out this year. Can't wait to share those authors' books!

Writing Update

Whirlwind of a week, much going on, most of which I can't talk about...YET. But things are afoot. It's all quite exciting, and when I'm given the go-ahead, I will share.

As for new projects, I'm working on multiple ones: a space opera, a romantic fantasy, a dark, sci-fi fantasy that connects to other stories I've written, and many short stories. I did just sign a contract for a short story coming out in an anthology later this year. More on that soon!

Also...I might have an opportunity to work on a dream project that has me just stratospheric right now, but we shall see!

It's going to be a very busy writing year, I think...

The Week Ahead

Busy times ahead with potential meetings, coffee, tea, shenanigans, meeting up with writer friends, and park visits planned...and who knows what else! But Gareth and I will have much fun. Wishing you all a lovely week, and thank you for the support, always!

Write on!
Jendia