What's in a Week - Vol. 32

Award nominations! Lots of secret news! Been a heck of a week...

What's in a Week - Vol. 32

Award nominations! Lots of secret news! Been a heck of a week...

BSFA Finalist - Twice!

If you missed the news, here's a link: https://jendia-gammon.ghost.io/ghost/#/editor/post/65e26350b1f4280001a70c45

Basically I'm a two-time finalist for the British Science Fiction Association (BSFA) awards! A tremendous honor and a first for me. Thank you to all who voted in the longlist and got me here! Voting for the winner continues until EasterCon.

Super Secret Stuff!

I've hinted on social media that a lot has gone down in the past week or so, and that really has been an understatement, if anything. I have reached a significant turning point in my fiction writing career. I cannot wait to share all the reasons for why; there are more than one. March came in like a lion for sure this year! I'm excited but also disoriented. Several things at once. I need to take a day and just absorb them all. Stay tuned. There will be a lot of news headed your way later this month.

One of the things involves a meeting I have tonight on zoom. Looking forward to that one. And I should be able to reveal what that particular bit of news is about very soon; the others have to wait a few weeks at least. Vague! But it'll all be worth the wait, I promise.

Hugo Award Nomination Time for a Few More Days!!!

Meanwhile, if you are voting member for the Hugo Awards, the nominations are open! Nominate by March 9! I have works eligible for the Hugo Awards under both my pen names! They are:

Novel:

THE INN AT THE AMETHYST LANTERN by J. Dianne Dotson (Eligible for Best Novel AND Lodestar Award) - Young Adult; Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Climate Fiction. Published by Android Press, October 2023.

Short Fiction:

“Copper” by Jendia Gammon in INTERZONE issue 295 (Best Short Fiction)

"Falling Upward into Starlight” by Jendia Gammon; Flash Fiction Short Story; Fantasy. Published by Queer Sci-Fi in the RISE anthology, October 2023.

“A Swirl of Leaves and Sand,” by Jendia Gammon; Short Story; Fantasy/Magical Realism. Published by Seaside Gothic, October 2023

“Opal World Frolic” by Jendia Gammon; Short Story; Science Fiction. Published by Third Flatiron in the Rhapsody of the Spheres anthology, August 2023.

“The Tower and the Raven,” by J. Dianne Dotson; Short Story; Fantasy. Published by Lazy Wolf Studios in Tales from Stolki’s Hall: A Thrones & Bones Anthology, September 2023.

“Midnight Serenade” by J. Dianne Dotson; Short Story; Science Fiction, Fantasy, Climate Fiction. Young Adult. Published by Solarpunk Magazine, January/February 2023.

Note: "Midnight Serenade" under my pen name J. Dianne Dotson makes me eligible for the Astounding Award for a new/upcoming writer (traditional publishing)!

Cover Art

The cover art of THE INN AT THE AMETHYST LANTERN is sublime, and its artist, Kim Herbst (mentioned above!) would be a wonderful nominee for that category! Behold:

If you are a voting member of the Hugo awards, I would love your nomination(s)! Everything is also listed here on my new blog! THANK YOU!

WorldCon (Hugo Awards) Accommodations Booked!

Speaking of the Hugo Awards, I will be there in Glasgow, Scotland! I booked my and Gareth's lodging so we are all sorted as far as that is concerned. So excited to explore this city, new to me!

Bid on My Original, Cute Hedgehog Art for a Good Cause!

Do you like hedgehogs and original art? Then you'll be pleased to know you still have time to bid on this watercolor illustration I made.

Library Fundraiser

My hometown library in East Tennessee seeks a renovation and needs our help. Let’s get this Appalachian community supported! Without it, I wouldn’t be the writer I am today. I want all generations from now forward to have a library they can be proud of. Donate here and feel free to share.

Upcoming Book Signings

I'm happy to report that, so far, I have two book signings lined up for this spring, one in late April at a bookstore, and one at StokerCon. They are both in San Diego! More details on both soon.

I bought a cool outfit for the StokerCon appearance. It's fab. I won't share what it is until I'm there.

Meanwhile, I can tell you that I'll be at the Android Press signing table, and I'm working with Mysterious Galaxy Bookstore to try and do other signings at the con on the day I'm there. I may also do a reveal for something cool at StokerCon...

On the Screen

The elephant--I MEAN SANDWORM--in the room is DUNE: PART TWO, which Gareth and I saw on opening night this past week. A landmark achievement in film, and a high-water mark for science fiction in film in particular. I loved that Denis Villeneuve went there and showed the dark side of this tale. It's not a happy tale, but it is powerful. Effects, sound, acting, costuming: perfection. The quieter moments are as or even more resonant than the massive sequences.

Meanwhile, we continued watching the new Apple TV Plus science fiction show, CONSTELLATION, starting the incredible Noomi Rapace (as Jo) as well as Breaking Bad/Better Call Saul actor Jonathan Banks. The show follows an astronaut (Rapace) in the aftermath of a disaster on the International Space Station, and a NASA experiment gone awry. Life back on Earth proves to be not as Jo had left it; but is Jo the same anymore herself? Very twisty, mind-bending show. Superb acting by all.

On the Page (or Audio)

The Two Towers Audiobook By J. R. R. Tolkien cover art

I'm still listening to Andy Serkis narrating The Lord of the Rings audiobooks, and currently I'm on The Two Towers. I guffawed at the scene in which Gandalf (endearingly) calls out Merry and Pippin for just...chillin' next to ruin and talking about food, as hobbits do. (I am convinced I am part hobbit, part Elf.)

I'm also reading two great ARCs (advance reader copies) for books out this year. Can't wait to share those authors' books!

Writing Update

The irony of it all! I've had little time to write this week with everything going on, but I have written. Some on my space opera novel, some on my fantasy novel, and more on a mind-bending dark academia thingy. Honestly I may have come up with a new genre with that book. It doesn't really fit the mold of anything else I've written or read. But it's fun and mysterious.

I did submit more short stories this past week, and hope to get back to some semblance of a routine in sending more out soon.

Also, I joined Thriller Writers International.

The Week Ahead

Tonight I have the aforementioned Zoom call. In the middle of the week we're meeting with a scientist friend, and later in the week I have another Zoom call with an artist I've worked with.

In between all that, as well as my science writing work, I must finish an art commission (Star Trek-related) and send out some of my handmade bookmarks to supporters. I think I should probably also order a bunch of new book plates...

More soon, as I can share it. Wishing you all a lovely week. Thank you, always, for your support.

Write on!
Jendia