What's in a Week - Vol. 36

Two April Book Signings! New Anthology Release! Starting a Maybe Sequel? Lots of Updates...

What's in a Week - Vol. 36

Two April Book Signings! New Anthology Release! Starting a Maybe Sequel? Lots of Updates...

New Anthology Release!

In case you missed it, a new anthology I'm in has just come out! I think the ebook deal is about to end (it was 99 cents!) so you might want to jump on that. The book is called ALL TOMORROW'S FUTURES: FICTIONS THAT DISRUPT and it includes my short story, "The Theseus Stone," alongside many writers' scientist-approved near-future stories. (My name is on the front cover too!) I think you'll enjoy it! Here are the CyberSalon publishers, who gave my contributor copy to Gareth at EasterCon, to send to me, along with the nice comment they gave me:

I'm a Nebula Award Finalist!

If you missed the news: I am a Nebula Award finalist! I'm officially listed on the Nebula Awards site, both for my book and as an author! How cool is that???

Read all about the nomination, what it means, about THE INN AT THE AMETHYST LANTERN, and what happens next on my blog! Voting for the Nebula Awards is now officially open, so if you are a SFWA member, I'd love your vote. Thank you to those who nominated me!

You can order THE INN AT THE AMETHYST LANTERN from anywhere (Bookshop.orgBarnes and NobleAmazonKoboWaterstones, your local seller, etc.).

Sponsorships for the Nebula Awards

You can help support Nebula Awards attendees and the SFWA organization. And if you want to help donate as well as leave me something under my seat on awards night, scroll to the bottom... 2024 Sponsorship Opportunities - Nebula Awards Conference Online.

Nominate Me for a Locus Award!

Vote in the Locus Awards

The Locus Awards are prestigious genre awards hosted by Locus Magazine each year. You can write in my works at this link. Thank you so much!

Eligible works:

Collection: The Shadow Galaxy: A Collection of Short Stories and Poetry (J. Dianne Dotson, Trepidatio Publishing)
Short Story: "Copper" (Jendia Gammon, Interzone 295)
Younger Fiction: The Inn at the Amethyst Lantern (J. Dianne Dotson, Android Press)

Thank You, BSFA Awards Voters!

I was a two-time finalist for the British Science Fiction Association (BSFA) awards! Thank you to all who voted. This was the first time I was ever shortlisted for writing awards, and even though I did not win, to be nominated for two different works and be alongside such fabulous other writers? THAT feels like a win. My first traditionally published books came out in 2023, and these nominations, plus the astonishing Nebula Award nomination above, really surprised me. Again, thank you!!

Updated Events: I'm Going to the LA Times Festival of Books! Also: Artifact Books Signing!

I grabbed the very last slot for the SCBWI (Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators) booth for the LA Times Festival of Books, so look for me Sunday, April 21 from 2 PM to 5 PM! I'll have copies of my Nebula Awards finalist book, THE INN AT THE AMETHYST LANTERN, available for sale and signing!

Later in April, I have a book signing at Artifact Books in Encinitas, California, on April 27 from 3 PM to 5 PM. More info on their website HERE. If you're in the greater San Diego area or Orange County, pop by and get either THE INN AT THE AMETHYST LANTERN or my BSFA-longlisted THE SHADOW GALAXY. Better yet, get both!

Here is an updated post of my events for Spring 2024:

Library Fundraiser

My hometown library in East Tennessee seeks a renovation and needs our help. Let’s get this Appalachian community supported! Without it, I wouldn’t be the writer I am today. I want all generations from now forward to have a library they can be proud of. Donate here and feel free to share.

On the Screen

The final season 1 episode CONSTELLATION was a stunner! I've appreciated this cerebral, poignant mystery box of a show, and its mind-bending concepts. But chiefly the acting of the cast, particularly Noomi Rapace, knocked my socks off. Really hope we get a second season! Apple TV+ is making gorgeous, immersive science fiction stories come to life.

I'm enjoying Guy Ritchie's new Netflix show, THE GENTLEMEN. Basically it's aristocrats behaving badly, but in the sleek, swaggering style Ritchie gives to all his works. Fun stuff!

On the Page

This past week, I was pleased to meet Huntington Library curator Dr. Daniel Lewis, and I also bought his book, TWELVE TREES: THE DEEP ROOTS OF OUR FUTURE, which he kindly personalized. We had a great discussion about our science backgrounds, science writing, and more intriguing ideas to help me steer the science side of my career.

Writing Update

I hadn't planned on it, but this was a great week of writing! I put a few more thousand words on my sci-fi/fantasy mystery book, which is an unusual, world-bending kind of thing, and I'm enjoying it.

I submitted more short stories this week, and wrote a couple of new ones that I'll submit in April.

Meanwhile, I've finally begun a sequel-shaped something! What could that be? Hmm...

The Week Ahead

It's Spring Break! The kids are out of school and I'm enjoying being with them. I do have a science writing work deadline, and I'm continuing on my art project for the chapter headers for my 2025 thriller book, ATACAMA. By the way, it's VERY early and we don't have the cover yet, but edits are nearly finished and there is already a preorder link on the publisher website for the hardcover edition! It's real!!

Meanwhile, I'm still awaiting word on the complete novels I have out to multiple editors: the dragon fantasy and the campy horror novel. I likely won't hear about either until at least June. Even so, I may have more than one book out in 2025! Stay tuned...

Wishing you all a pleasant week ahead!

Thank you, always, for your support.

Write on!
Jendia