What's in a Week - Vol. 42

It was a quiet week, the calm before a very busy set of weeks ahead. Read on to catch up on all my news.

What's in a Week - Vol. 42
A moment of calm.

It was a quiet week, the calm before a very busy set of weeks ahead. Read on to catch up on all my news.

Anthology News!

Authors we've announced so far for our cross-genre anthology.

In case you missed the news, my husband Gareth L. Powell and I making our own publishing imprint! We are crowdfunding this endeavor for our first book, a cross-genre anthology (tentatively publishing February 11, 2025). You can see above some of the authors we've already announced, and more will be announced this week. Currently, we are 29% funded! You can help us reach our fundraising goal. Read more at this link below. Rewards for your donations start from $5 on up, higher tiers offer books, and still higher tiers include classes from both me and Gareth and other perks!

Publishing Imprint News and Opportunity
Jendia Gammon published a post on Ko-fi

We've already been editing stories from some of our authors, and we've seen the early draft of the cover art. It's gorgeous! More news to come. Do follow me at Ko-fi above to receive updates on our publishing imprint and the anthology! And thank you for spreading the word.

StokerCon

My plan is to be at StokerCon in San Diego on Saturday, June 1, but I'm unsure of the timing. I'll be signing books at the Android Press table in the dealers' room, so do stop by if you're at the con! Hopefully I'll have a clearer idea of the schedule soon.

Nebula Awards Conference Update - My Schedule

In case you missed the news, I'm a Nebula Award finalist! This is for my young adult debut novel, THE INN AT THE AMETHYST LANTERN (written as J. Dianne Dotson). It was also a BSFA finalist book. And...it might also be up for something else, but I can't share that yet.

I also will be on two panels on Friday, June 7 in Pasadena. You can see the conference schedule here. On Saturday, June 8, I have an author meet and greet at 11:30 AM. Later that evening, I will be at the red carpet and award ceremony.

Following the conference, I will be available for a WRITING DATE in which we write together and you can ask questions. Head here for details on that.

Limited Stock of Signed Books Directly from Me

I'm selling a limited supply of THE INN AT THE AMETHYST LANTERN, my Nebula & BSFA Award finalist book. I can sign/personalize and ship to you if you live in the U.S. Unfortunately, shipping to other countries is prohibitively expensive.

Buy your copy of the book in my Ko-Fi Shop, which is also a place where you can also buy me a cup of coffee or donation, incidentally!

The Inn at the Amethyst Lantern

The Nebula & BSFA novel by J. Dianne Dotson (Jendia Gammon). Paperback, signed/personalized by the author.

Buy a Signed Copy

Library Fundraiser

My hometown library in East Tennessee seeks a renovation and needs our help. Let’s get this Appalachian community supported! Without it, I wouldn’t be the writer I am today. I want all generations from now forward to have a library they can be proud of. Donate here and feel free to share.

On the Screen

This week, I finished watching Sugar on Apple TV+, an interesting show with a unique premise. I kind of like that it reminded me of the sorts of shows that took risks in the 1980s. It's a love letter to Los Angeles, 80s shows, and noir. Whether or not it gets a season 2, I'm glad I watched it.

Ruby Sunday and the Fifteenth Doctor in Doctor Who, "Boom"

Doctor Who was back in strong form with the Stephen Moffat written episode "Boom," and the script gave the Fifteenth Doctor (Ncuti Gatwa) and Ruby (Millie Gibson) exactly the kind of syncing up that I felt was missing prior to this episode. They seemed in real danger, both of them. There is a strong theme of parenthood with this season. I wonder if we'll see the Doctor's granddaughter, Susan, at some point. And I wonder who Ruby's parents actually are. I have a guess...but I'm along for the ride and can't wait to see how things unfold.

On the Page

I'm still reading an advance review copy (ARC) of Stark Holborn's latest book, NINTH LIFE. It's great!

Writing Update

It's been quite satisfying reading and editing stories as Editor-in-Chief for this new imprint.

Meanwhile, among my own writing rotations, I've been working on a science fiction novella this past week. This led to my reaching out to a prominent scientist in a field that I am writing about in this book. Being a science writer myself, this sort of communication is easy for me, and always rewarding. Luckily, this scientist is on board to have a Zoom call with me in June. Then I can ask all the questions I need answered: what's known, what's unknown, and what's potentially plausible about the scenario I've cooked up.

Aside from the novella, I will pirouette from it to the sci-fi/fantasy/mystery novel, and maybe dabble in the fantasy books a bit soon also.

The cover artist for my May 13, 2025 novel ATACAMA has been chosen, and I'm delighted. The artist does amazing work, and I also gave him a look at my chapter header illustrations I'm working on for the book, as well as its plot points and several reference photos. I can't wait to see what the cover will look like!

My April 8, 2025 novel DOOMFLOWER should have cover development and edits starting soon as well. I'm impressed with the progress for both books!

I do not have any submission updates for the dragon fantasy, but hopefully by June there will be news.

Connect

You can find links to my work and the various social media platforms via my LinkTree.

The Week Ahead

More author announcements via Ko-Fi and some novel writing are on deck for this coming week!

It's also a work deadline week, so I'll be very busy on all fronts.

Hope you all have a great week ahead.

Thank you, as always, for your support.

Write on!
Jendia