What's in a Week - Vol. 37

One week left for Nebula Award Voting! Spring event update! What's new in writing, etc...

What's in a Week - Vol. 37

One week left for Nebula Award Voting! Spring event update! What's new in writing, etc...

One Week Left to Vote for the Nebula Awards!

If you missed the news: I am a Nebula Award finalist! I'm also officially listed on the Nebula Awards site, both for my book and as an author!

Read all about the nomination, what it means, about THE INN AT THE AMETHYST LANTERN, and what happens next on my blog! Voting for the Nebula Awards is now officially open, with one week left to vote. If you are a SFWA member, I'd love your vote. Thank you to those who nominated me!

You can order THE INN AT THE AMETHYST LANTERN from anywhere (Bookshop.orgBarnes and NobleAmazonKoboWaterstones, your local seller, etc.).

Sponsorships for the Nebula Awards

You can help support Nebula Awards attendees and the SFWA organization. And if you want to help donate as well as leave me something under my seat on awards night, scroll to the bottom... 2024 Sponsorship Opportunities - Nebula Awards Conference Online.

Nominate Me for a Locus Award!

Vote in the Locus Awards

Also only a week left for this! The Locus Awards are prestigious genre awards hosted by Locus Magazine each year. You can write in my works at this link. Thank you so much!

Eligible works:

Collection: The Shadow Galaxy: A Collection of Short Stories and Poetry (J. Dianne Dotson, Trepidatio Publishing)
Short Story: "Copper" (Jendia Gammon, Interzone 295)
Younger Fiction: The Inn at the Amethyst Lantern (J. Dianne Dotson, Android Press)

Updated Events: Some Changes!

Note there are some schedule changes from last time! The Artifact Books signing is now on May 11, and I'm alongside multi-Bram Stoker Award winner Jonathan Maberry!

Before that, however, I'm at the Los Angeles Times Festival of Books at the SCBWI booth on Sunday, April 21.

April Locus Magazine Mentions

I was mentioned in the April 2024 Locus Magazine, which is really cool! These are the snippets.

New Anthology: All Tomorrow's Futures: Fictions That Disrupt, out Now!

My latest published story is in the excellent anthology, All Tomorrow's Futures: Fictions That Disrupt, published by CyberSalon, and we were all pleased to see it reached #1 as an Amazon bestseller in its category for several days in a row. It has stayed high in the rankings on both sides of the pond since then. I hope you'll pick this up! Stories by several of us genre writers, all approved by scientists. Available to order anywhere online in ebook, paperback, or hardback.

Library Fundraiser

My hometown library in East Tennessee seeks a renovation and needs our help. Let’s get this Appalachian community supported! Without it, I wouldn’t be the writer I am today. I want all generations from now forward to have a library they can be proud of. Donate here and feel free to share.

On the Screen

Over Spring Break, I watched some John Hughes movies with the kids, such as FERRIS BUELLER'S DAY OFF, THE BREAKFAST CLUB, and PLANES, TRAINS, AND AUTOMOBILES. My younger teen seems especially delighted by the Hughes films, so I think we'll work our way through them this Spring.

I'm still enjoying Guy Ritchie's slick, new Netflix show, THE GENTLEMEN. It doesn't require too much thought, it's just Aristocrats Behaving Badly and that is all I need it to be.

Writing Update

Spring Break was not work-free for me, but I at least didn't have my day fractured by multiple school runs. I took advantage of that time to write and submit some new short stories and write a few chapters on new books.

Also over the break, I got my first round of edits back for my 2025 thriller/sci-fi/horror book, ATACAMA. The editing process is always quite interesting, and it's been fun explaining some of the background stuff to my editor for this book. Because this novel is much more real-world/near future than my other books, and because part of it dips into my own personal experiences a wee bit, it's made for interesting discussions. I sent my edits back, and today got the second round, and it's all polishing up nicely. I think another round, and we're set, except for proof editing. I need to get back to making the chapter header art for the book; that's due in June. I have 30 pieces left to do, new COPIC markers, and I'm ready!

Note, official mainstream preorders don't start until later this year, but you CAN preorder a hardcover edition directly from the publisher HERE. I know one person who has already done this, bless them!

The Week Ahead

This is a busy week in a very busy month, as things accelerate at the kids' schools, I have a really cool orientation this week, and I've got a zoom call with my web designers for my publishing imprint. Somewhere in between all these things, I'm also working, and maybe I'll even, you know, WRITE!

Meanwhile, wishing you all a great week ahead.

Thank you, always, for your support.

Write on!
Jendia