What's in a Week - Vol. 40

Personalized Books, Publishing Imprint, Upcoming Book Signing, and more!

What's in a Week - Vol. 40

Personalized Books, Publishing Imprint, Upcoming Book Signing, and more!

NEW BOOK! Here comes DOOMFLOWER!

If you missed the news, I just--as in Saturday morning--signed a book deal for my campy horror novel, DOOMFLOWER! Read about this thrilling news in my blog post! More news as I can share it. We're already having cover art discussions, and by the look of the publisher's website, they're gonna nail it.

Otherwise...

This past week was spent chiefly on wrapping up a work deadline for my science writing gig, and making several more illustrations for the chapter headers for my 2025 thriller with sci-fi & horror elements, ATACAMA.

The New Publishing Imprint

In case you missed the news, we're making our own publishing imprint! You can read about it in this post: https://jendia-gammon.ghost.io/publishing-imprint-update/.

What's new? I had a Zoom call with another small press, and gleaned some helpful tips from them. I have a meeting with my web design folks this coming week, to go over the imprint website. We've had the logos for about a year now, and we want to launch everything together.

Dual Book Signing with Jonathan Maberry

On Saturday, May 11, join two cross-genre authors for an author event! I'm signing books and doing a reading at Artifact Rare Books in Encinitas, California, alongside Jonathan Maberry, multi Bram Stoker Award winner and New York Times bestseller.

Nebula Awards Conference Update

In case you missed the news, I'm a Nebula Award finalist! This is for my young adult debut novel, THE INN AT THE AMETHYST LANTERN (written as J. Dianne Dotson). It was also a BSFA finalist book. And...it might also be up for something else, but I can't share that yet.

I received information on the upcoming Nebula Awards Conference, to be held in Pasadena, California, in early June. This info included procedures for ceremony rehearsals and other such documentation. It's starting to feel sort of real...maybe!

I also will be on a panel about short fiction. You can see the conference schedule here.

Following the conference, I will be available for a WRITING DATE in which we write together and you can ask questions. Head here for details on that.

Oh, and if you've known me for any amount of time, you'll maybe wonder what my next geek fashion will be for the Nebula Awards conference and ceremony. I'm not telling, but it'll be worth the wait!

Limited Stock of Signed Books Directly from Me

I'm selling a limited supply of THE INN AT THE AMETHYST LANTERN, my Nebula & BSFA Award finalist book. I can sign/personalize and ship to you if you live in the U.S. Unfortunately, shipping to other countries is prohibitively expensive.

Buy your copy of the book in my Ko-Fi Shop, which is also a place where you can also buy me a cup of coffee or donation, incidentally!

The Inn at the Amethyst Lantern

The Nebula & BSFA novel by J. Dianne Dotson (Jendia Gammon). Paperback, signed/personalized by the author.

Buy a Signed Copy

Indie April

Just a few days left of Indie April! Support indie (self-published) authors all through April. Before my 2023 traditional debuts (THE INN AT THE AMETHYST LANTERN/THE SHADOW GALAXY), I wrote my space opera series, THE QUESTRISON SAGA®. This is my indie series. The books are HELIOPAUSE, EPHEMERIS, ACCRETION, and LUMINIFEROUS, and they are written under my J. Dianne Dotson pen name. You can also find them by searching online retailers for Jendia Gammon. Every purchase goes mostly to me (the maker and distributor Ingram gets a small cut for their services, but that's it). Order these books from your favorite bookseller! They represent my longest writing history, and will forever be the favorite things I've written.

Library Fundraiser

My hometown library in East Tennessee seeks a renovation and needs our help. Let’s get this Appalachian community supported! Without it, I wouldn’t be the writer I am today. I want all generations from now forward to have a library they can be proud of. Donate here and feel free to share.

On the Screen

On the small screen, I've still watching the chilling and mesmerizing RIPLEY on Netflix. I'm continuing Colin Farrell's surreal noir mystery, SUGAR (on Apple TV+), about a private detective named John Sugar on the trail of a missing young woman.

On the Page

Currently, I'm continuing TWELVE TREES by Daniel Lewis. I'm also reading some ARCs (advance reader copies) of upcoming books, and another one is headed to my inbox soon. I'm very excited for these books, and when it's time to leave reviews, you'll see why.

Note: I'm asked by publishers and sometimes authors to read ARCs, and while I wish I had more time for this, I can only read so many. After all, I still have to write my own books, do my regular work, etc., and when there's time, read books for leisure.

Writing Update

Before Saturday's exciting book deal news, it was a quiet week!

This past week was consumed by science writing work, but I did craft some new short stories. I also updated my rather extensive work in progress spreadsheet. I sorted completed works, submission status of books and short stories, and positioned manuscripts in progress according to priority. The sci-fi & fantasy mystery novel is my current gravity well, so I'm prioritizing it above the others for now. I'll be getting back to novel writing in the week ahead after this brief hiatus.

I do not have any submission updates for the dragon fantasy, but hopefully by June there will be news as it's with multiple editors. This is a fun, thrilling book deserving to be published. Wish me luck!

Connect

You can find links to my work and the various social media platforms via my LinkTree.

The Week Ahead

This will be mostly a quiet week, working on a novel, doing first-of-the month errands, and sneaking in the occasional short story. Maybe even a poem or two!

Wishing you all a great week ahead.

Thank you, as always, for your support.

Write on!
Jendia